current favourites II.

The last time I wrote a favourites post was back in March. I can’t exactly recall whether I wanted to make it a regular post at the time but right now, I’m happy that I didn’t. I think it works better to have it as a ‘check-in’ sort of post. I haven’t really tried anything that new and exciting but looking at the headings and how I split up my first favourites post, there are updates and additions that can be made.

What I’ve been listening to: The Pandolly Podcast

I’ve had an addiction to podcasts since last November and I find myself often adding new ones into my regular rotation too. The only downside to this is that when you don’t have the time to listen them, a little backlog of podcasts builds up. This does bring me onto the podcast I picked to highlight today – The Pandolly Podcast. I’d somehow gone three weeks without listening to it (there’s a new one every Friday) and so I’ve been playing catch-up. However, it’s actually been quite nice to have so many to listen to because I find this podcast to be the perfect accompaniment to getting ready – on those days when you aren’t in a mad rush to get out the door. The Pandolly Podcast is hosted by two Sunday Times Style columnists; Pandora Sykes and Dolly Alderton and consists of their round-up of the most noteworthy celebrity, fashion and generally crazy news stories of the week. For me, it makes a wonderful backdrop to getting ready in the mornings (and some afternoons) because it’s usually around 30mins long which is short enough that I can listen to a whole episode in one sitting and the format lends itself well to listen to whilst moving about a room. Pandora and Dolly discuss the topics in a fun but also well considered way and you can tell they are good friends too, which when all combined make for a really great podcast.

pandolly
Pandora Sykes and Dolly Alderton
What I’ve been wearing: Benefit Goof Proof Eyebrow Pencil

I want to start by clarifying that I am not one of those women who have a full eyebrow routine. My eyebrow grooming consists of brushing them through with a brow comb to neaten them and recently filling in the random little gaps I have too. I’m not sure why my brows sometimes look like they need a bit more help but lately the arches of my eyebrows have required some extra attention. I used to use a powder for these awkward sparse areas but when I received the Benefit Goof Proof Eyebrow Pencil I was completely converted. It came free with a magazine one month and after I tested it out, I immediately knew what the fuss was, over both Benefit’s brow products and pencils in a waxy formula. Since then, I use the Goof Proof pencil all the time and it really does live up to its name. The twist-up mechanism and the shape and shade of the pencil make it virtually impossible to go wrong. I’m in no way an expert when it comes to make-up but I find this product so simple and easy to use. Plus, it has real staying power – I never have to touch it up or set it with another product. It does the job on its own, I just brush through my brows afterwards to ensure it looks as natural as possible. As someone who basically leaves their brows to themselves, keeping them looking as they do naturally is very important to me. I’m not after ‘Instagram Eyebrows’. The only negative is that my pencil didn’t come with a spoolie attached but I think that might be because it was a freebie.

benefitbrows

benefitbrows2
My Hema eyebrow brush fills in for my missing spoolie
What I’ve been watching: Freaks and Geeks

This favourite is both an old and a recent one. It’s old in how I have watched the whole series several times over and it’s recent in how it has only just come onto Netflix in the UK. Of course, when I got an email announcing that it had been added to my beloved streaming service, I started watching it again pretty much straight away. Freaks and Geeks is the cult classic TV series from Judd Apatow and Paul Feig and features many famous actors in their younger years, such as James Franco, Linda Cardellini, Seth Rogen and Jason Segel. You will recognise most of the cast from Apatow and Feig’s work now though too. The series is funny, heartfelt and relatable and so I will always recommend it as show you need to watch. Now that it’s on Netflix and I can watch it whenever I want, my recent viewing probably won’t be the last time I press play on this great show. I should warn you though, once you’ve seen it you will be left wondering why it only got one season!

freaksandgeeks

Honourable Mention: Bumble and Bumble Curl Conscious Calming Creme for Coarse Curls

A special mention this time goes out to my favourite hair product. The name of it is quite a mouthful but all that effort in saying/typing it out is definitely worth it. I first bought this Bumble and Bumble product a few years ago whilst on holiday and it has become a staple in my post-wash hair routine ever since. Unfortunately it was discontiued for some insane reason at the end of last year BUT all hope was not lost thanks to the amazing Gone But Not Forgotten service. I was referred to them by Bumble and Bumble when I inquired about this product and they were able to find me another bottle of the Curl Conscious Calming Creme. I can now happily continue to use the existing bottle I have, knowing that I won’t have to despair when it eventually runs out. As for the Curl Conscious Calming Creme itself, I love it because like with other Bumble and Bumble products it does what it’s meant to do (in this case it tames any frizz and enhances my natural curl), smells great and a little goes a very long way. That last point is especially great as they are not the cheapest and so I feel like it all evens out due to the fact that it lasts for so long.

bumbleandbumble

N.

images via thetimes.co.uk, iytimg.com, my own photos
Leave a Reply

