best dressed: Emmy Awards

There I was with my posts for this week all planned out when up pops the Emmy Awards. After browsing through all of the looks on Monday night, I knew I would have to disrupt my schedule in order to write about it. In my round up of the best dressed female celebrities in attendance on Sunday night, I realised that I actually liked a fair amount of them. Plus, there were a few women whose style I am not usually a fan of that caught my attention – in a good way. I don’t think I would naturally consider the Emmys as the event for stand-out gowns but there were some this year that could rival the Oscars. Most of my favourite looks were heavily embellished but there were some sleeker and some more classic silhouettes that I loved too.

First up and possibly my number one was Claire Danes in a glittering gold Schiaparelli gown. She was head-to-toe perfection in my opinion and the details on this dress really worked – the subtle floral print which created a glistening effect and the extra strap in the centre added a unique touch.

emmys4
Claire Danes in Schaiparelli Haute Couture

In case you didn’t know that Emilia Clarke had a killer body, this Atelier Versace dress certainly reminded you. The texture and structure of this gown stop it from being too simple and made a nude colour much more interesting.

emmys3
Emilia Clarke in Atelier Versace

Unfortunately I often forget about Emmy Rossum when thinking about the most stylish celebrities but she does almost always look good. She stood out in a clean and sleek white dress because when simple is executed this well, it can be miles better and more memorable than a huge gown. Her minimal accessories, even down to her single strap sandals, further complemented this look.

emmys2
Emmy Rossum in Wes Gordon

Priyanka Chopra was one of my best dressed at the Oscars and she didn’t disappoint at the Emmys either. Her Jason Wu dress was a more classic style, both in terms of the designer himself and the silhouette in general. It can be hard to make a red dress stand out on the red carpet but this one had the right amount of drama to do so, especially when combined with the cut-out details. I also liked how the styling of a slicked back ponytail and a red lip helped to create a look reminiscent of Old Hollywood.

emmys11
Priyanka Chopra in Jason Wu

Kristen Bell is not usually on my radar for style but the dramatic gown she wore on Sunday night changed that. I feel like her look is what would typically come to mind when thinking about red carpet dressing, however the colourful floral design on this nude dress makes it much more striking. Paired-back jewellery and relaxed hair let this Zuhair Murad number be the main event, which is what it deserves.

emmys10
Kristen Bell in Zuhair Murad

I have long been a fan of Kirsten Dunst and her acting. Her style can often be added to that list too and this look is no exception. Riccardo Tisci at Givenchy is very good at creating a black dress with loads of detail and a mix of textures. While an LBD is a wardrobe staple, a black dress on a red carpet can fall flat and so this is why these details are so effective and important. This dress is actually pretty sexy in how it hugs Kirsten’s figure but sophisticated styling keeps it in classy territory.

emmys7
Kirsten Dunst in Givenchy Haute Couture

Claire Danes wasn’t the only one to stun in gold as Laverne Cox went for the bombshell look in a figure-hugging Naeem Khan dress. The delicate but all-over embellishment stopped this from being just another semi-sheer gown and when paired with classic waves it instead created a glamourous look. I don’t normally like tone-on-tone looks but I think her statuesque figure and minimal accessories help to carry it off successfully.

emmys9
Laverne Cox in Naeem Khan

Not many women could pull of a dress both in this shade of green and this heavily embellished – it looks like it weighs a ton! Yet Sarah Paulson wears it with ease. The colour complements her blonde hair and the gown in general suits her style as she can be daring with her sartorial choices. To me, this is the type of dress you should wear to a big event and winning an Emmy for her excellent performance as Marcia Clark definitely fits the bill.

emmys13
Sarah Paulson in Prada

Although I wasn’t bowled over by their whole looks, I did just want to mention how much I loved Sophie Turner’s hair and makeup. When I first saw she went blonde I wasn’t convinced as she had such beautiful red hair but her head was so perfectly styled for the Emmys that I’ve changed my mind. I wasn’t really keen on her dress, but facially she looked stunning. I’ve also included Amanda Peet, well the top part of her dress to be exact, because I really liked the detail and colours on her simple black Altuzarra number. The varying sizes of pailettes created an interesting and unique look.

emmys6
Sophie Turner – hair and makeup by Christian Wood & Kira Nasrat
emmys5
Amanda Peet – dress details by Altuzarra

Finally, how could I resist including a photo of three of the young stars from Stranger Things. They were all appropriately dressed and just looked so adorable.

emmys
Honourable Mention: Gaten Matarazzo, Caleb McLaughlin & Millie Bobby Brown

N.

images via nymag.com/thecut and vogue.com
Leave a Reply

