walk this way.

The topic of today’s post is something I randomly came across on Twitter but when I looked into it, I knew I wanted to write about it. At the end of August, Michael Kors launched his first ever street style campaign in order to showcase the key styles in his new handbag collection. The 360-degree campaign is titled The Walk and is linked with the brand creating “an interactive, shoppable experience” via an online platform that their customers can be featured on by tagging photos of their MK goods with #SidewalkSpotted. Now that having a strong social media presence is so important, I’m not surprised a brand like Michael Kors has got even more involved and is trying to encourage their customers to do so too. In recent years, this brand has become really popular especially amongst young girls and women because their items carry the designer status without being so unattainably expensive like the higher end luxury brands. With their target consumer being young women, it does make sense that they would market their newest range of handbags in such a social media driven way.

While I think this is a clever and appropriate move for Michael Kors, what I like most about The Walk are the campaign images themselves. I think all of the components that make up this campaign have made it stand out in a really appealing way and I actually am more interested in looking at Michael Kors’ new collection because of it. The Walk was photographed by Tommy Ton who is a brilliant street style photographer and it is why the campaign images come across as authentic. I am not certain it would have the same feel and effect if a photographer who wasn’t known for capturing street style was involved. I also think the backdrop of New York City pairs really well with this direction too, as it again adds a sense of realism to the images.

The models used in The Walk is what initially drew me to look more into it and is possibly the main reason why I like it so much. Along with Soo Joo Park, Nina Agdal and Princess Olympia of Greece, Solange Knowles features in this campaign and it was her that caught my attention. I have long been a fan of Solange’s style and I have always thought she was miles ahead of Beyonce in that department. Her style is unique and cool and she plays with colour and pattern so well. For that reason Solange is the star of this campaign for me but when looking through The Walk in it’s entirety, I was not disappointed by the images with Soo Joo, Nina and Princess Olympia either. Each woman styled three looks from the Michael Kors Autumn/Winter 2016 collection and paired them with one of the new handbags (from the Brooklyn series and the Isadora satchel). I think what Michael Kors has said himself sums up how effective it was to allow them to style the looks themselves: “Style is so subjective. There is nothing more exciting to me than seeing my designs brought to life by different personalities.” It also feels very much in line with shooting a street style campaign. Along with the images, there are also four videos directed by Wednesday Agency on the Michael Kors YouTube channel, ranging from 37 to 43 seconds long. In my opinion these short videos further create a story for this campaign and inject even more personality into The Walk as a whole.

On a final note, The Walk succeeds in making me wish even more that the temperature would drop so I can break out my chunky sweaters and coats. I’m so over the heat and humidity we’ve been experiencing in England and I’m left lusting after the perfect Autumn weather depicted in this campaign. Oh to be strolling through New York in great outerwear!

thewalk-solange2
Solange Knowles
thewalk-solange3
Solange Knowles
thewalk-solange4
Solange Knowles
thewalk-solange
Solange Knowles
thewalk-solange5
Solange Knowles
thewalk-olympia2
Princess Olympia of Greece
thewalk-olympia
Princess Olympia of Greece
thewalk-olympia3
Princess Olympia of Greece
thewalk-nina3
Nina Agdal
thewalk-nina
Nina Agdal
thewalk-nina4
Nina Agdal
thewalk-nina2
Nina Agdal
thewalk-soojoo5
Soo Joo Park
thewalk-soojoo
Soo Joo Park
thewalk-soojoo3
Soo Joo Park
thewalk-soojoo4
Soo Joo Park
thewalk-soojoo6
Soo Joo Park
thewalk-soojoo2
Soo Joo Park

The Walk – Solange Knowles

The Walk – Princess Olympia of Greece

The Walk – Nina Agdal

The Walk – Soo Joo Park

N.

images via fashiongonerogue.com, instagram.com/michaelkors
Leave a Reply

