style spotlight: Phoebe Tonkin 

When I wrote my style spotlight post on Alicia Vikander I thought it would become a regular series on this blog, however six months later and that is still the only proper installment of it… until today. I have done variations on it by looking at Blake Lively‘s outfits over a three month promotional tour and at Rosie Huntington-Whiteley‘s travel style. Today though I wanted to revisit the style spotlight format to look at what Phoebe Tonkin wears, who just so happens to be one of my favourites. I have mentioned previously about how Phoebe Tonkin is one of my girl crushes and it is actually due to me following her on Instagram that I was partly inspired to write this post. In particular it was her recent posts from Comic-Con, as the dresses she wore and how they were styled were just too good. I have long been a fan of the majority of her looks (as you will see in this post) and while she was definitely on my mental list of women to feature for their style, I do think her Instagram gave me the jolt I needed to get around to it sooner.

Phoebe’s style is feminine and cool and in my opinion it is quite unexpected for a 20-something actress today. What she wears is unlike what most young(er) female celebrities wear as you won’t find any skin-tight, cut-out dresses on her and instead she favours more demure pieces that are oh so chic without even a hint of frumpiness. I think she demonstrates how to make classic silhouettes modern through interesting textures and prints and that ‘pretty’ looks can have edge too. Plus, I think what she wears on the red carpet blends really well with her personal style. Easy-going dresses by brands such as Realisation Par (founded by her close friend Alexandra Spencer) and Rouje or Frame denim in a variety of forms fit with her fun and relaxed personality and mirror the refined yet casual vibe of her red carpet looks. She even manages to regularly wear Chanel without ever looking too over-done or fussy!

I couldn’t write this post without praising her stylists. Phoebe Tonkin used to be styled by her friend Ilona Hamer but whether the Australian stylist, who is also Fashion Director at Unconditional Magazine, Contributing Fashion Editor at Russh and co-founder of Matteau (the swimwear brand Phoebe has modelled for several times) became too busy to also style the actress I’m not sure. They are still friends and collaborate often so I don’t think it was anything negative that led to them parting ways. Phoebe is still in great hands though as she is now working with Leith Clark, who styles some of my other sartorial favourites-Zoe Kazan and Kiera Knightley. Clark also wears many hats as in addition to being a stylist she is also the founder of Violet, is the Style Director-At-Large at Harper’s Bazaar UK and consults for brands such as Orla Kiely. However for both Ilona and Leith having many other titles never stopped them from dressing Phoebe really well and in a way that is always appropriate for whatever event she is attending. I have no doubt that Phoebe Tonkin will continue to be a key fixture on my celebrity style radar.

phoebetonkin4
Chanel
phoebetonkin8
Chanel
Entertainment Weekly Hosts Its Annual Comic-Con Party At FLOAT At The Hard Rock Hotel In San Diego In Celebration Of Comic-Con 2016 - Arrivals
Huishan Zhang dress, Erdem shoes
phoebetonkin12
Erdem
phoebetonkin20
Lover
phoebetonkin10
Protagonist
phoebetonkin9
Chanel
phoebetonkin18
Camilla and Marc
phoebetonkin17
Phillip Lim
phoebetonkin16
Christopher Kane
phoebetonkin13
Ellery
San Diego Comic-Con - The Originals
Giamba
phoebetonkin19
Chanel
phoebetonkin7
Valentino
phoebetonkin15
Chanel
phoebetonkin6
Chanel jacket
phoebetonkin5
Chanel jacket
phoebetonkin14
Frame jeans
phoebetonkin23
Frame
phoebetonkin22
Frame
phoebetonkin11
Realisation Par dress
The Ninth Annual Veuve Clicquot Polo Classic - VIP
Tommy Hilfiger dress, Maison Michel hat
phoebetonkin2
Rouje by Jeanne Damas dress

N.

images via gofugyourself.com, dailymail.co.uk, celebmafia.com
One thought on “style spotlight: Phoebe Tonkin 

Leave a Reply

