best dressed: cfda awards

On Monday night in New York City, the 2016 CFDA Awards took place. In addition to being an event that honours both well established and up-and-coming American designers (as well as one International winner each year), it is great for red carpet style watching. As it is a purely fashion event, the outfits worn by the attendees are usually better than your average movie premiere. I think it is similar to the Met Gala in this way, albeit a more casual version, because it encourages more fashion-forward dressing and as the awards are for the designers themselves, the collaboration between designer and celebrity further increases the creativity in red carpet style.

Although there are some usual suspects amongst my picks for best dressed (blame Alexa Chung for looking so damn great all the time!), I did find that most of my favourite looks were unexpected in terms of the women wearing them. It’s not that I don’t think they are usually stylish but rather that sometimes their red carpet wear can be a bit hit-and-miss or that it’s good but doesn’t make me think ‘wow’.

cfda-emily
Emily Weiss in Baja East

Emily Weiss in this gorgeous Baja East suit was definitely my favourite look of the night. She just oozes that cool-girl style which is modern, relaxed and sexy all at the same time. I like that she kept her accessories to the minimum as it both complements and reflects the minimalism of the suit. Her glossy, soft waves also keep this outfit from looking too ‘done’.

cfda-michelle
Michelle Monaghan in Off-White

This Off-White dress on Michelle Monaghan is another favourite of favourites for me. I love the contrast of the textures and colours of this dress, right down to the raw hem on the one side. I think it’s interesting and unusual and simply works really well on her. I also like how she paired it with very casual hair because I think any slicked back hairstyle would have been too severe.

cfda-riley
Riley Keough in Proenza Schouler

Ever since I got properly into fashion Proenza Schouler has been a firm favourite designer of mine. This dress on Riley Keough provides another example as to why I like their work so much. The silhouette of this dress is fairly simple but the detail elevates it to something more interesting and effective. I like the tiny slivers of skin you can see peeking out in between the panels and the twisted strips at the bottom of the dress create movement. From head to toe the slicked back and simple styling, with the fun touches of mismatched earrings and a pop of red lipstick make this (mostly) monochromatic look really work.

cfda-karlie
Karlie Kloss in Rosie Assoulin

I am a big fan of Rosie Assoulin’s designs (I’ve been thinking about putting together a blog post to showcase my love for her clothes) and this white dress on Karlie Kloss is no exception. Karlie is a supermodel, which means she tends to look great in everything, but I like this because it is different from what she usually wears. Despite the cut-out in the torso, it’s actually quite a pretty and girly dress. She has leaned into that with the sparkly pink heels and make-up but her messy bun stops the overall look from being too sweet.

cfda-kirsten
Kirsten Dunst in Rodarte

Rodarte and Kirsten Dunst are a perfect match, she always looks great when wearing Kate and Laura Mulleavy’s designs. This dress has a lot going on: heavy embellishment, ruffles, a semi-sheer skirt, the flash of contrasting black but as it is all well balanced, it doesn’t feel like too much. The length and silhouette of the dress, along with the shoes and ornate orchid earring, are in-keeping with the vintage influence found in Kirsten’s style.

cfda-alexa
Alexa Chung in Prabal Gurung

This leather Prabal Gurung dress is sexier than Alexa Chung’s style normally is but the length and shape of the lace skirt make it more demure and soften the look. The smokey eye and pointed toe heels continue this mix of styles. In the end though, the CFDA Awards allowed Alexa to yet again show her inability to ever look bad.

2016 CFDA Fashion Awards - Show
Beyonce in Givenchy

Although I usually think Beyonce’s music is far, far superior to her style (which is often lacking for me) this Givenchy suit paired with an oversized hat is wonderfully dramatic and very fitting to wear whilst receiving a Fashion Icon Award. Sidenote: is it just me or is Beyonce’s suit the same as this one worn by Bella Hadid in Cannes last month? Either way I do think Beyonce wore it best. 

cfda-kaya
Okay Kaya (with Dev Hynes, Aurora James & Mical Brockru) in Brother Veilles shoes

I have to be honest I don’t really know who Okay Kaya is other than my quick google search telling me she is a singer. Despite that, I really like her look; it’s simple and chic and perfect for showing off the Brother Veilles shoes. I especially like how everything is the same colour and whilst I am only focusing on her, I do think as a group they are all very well co-ordinated.

cfda-abbi+ilana
Abbi Jacobson & Ilana Glazer both in Rebecca Minkoff

Finally, I have included Abbi and Ilana because I love Broad City and I rarely see them at red carpet events. The dresses they are wearing go against what I have said above about wanting to see more exciting celebrity style, but they are stylish and chic and I deny you to look at this photo of them smiling/laughing and not crack a small smile yourself!

N.

images via vogue.com, nymag.com/thecut, gofugyourself.com
Leave a Reply

