music monday: Bombay Bicycle Club

Over the past week instead of listening to one particular song or artist, I have been enjoying just pressing shuffle. As a result I have rediscovered a lot of music in my iTunes library that I haven’t listened to in ages and the majority of the time this has reminded me how great these partially forgotten songs are. I’ve really liked listening to my music like this whilst I’ve been working and when I’ve just been browsing online. I think that not knowing what song is going to be playing next and having the tempo of the music change with every song, has actually helped me when I’m working. It has sort of spurred me on that bit more to have a mixed selection of music playing while I’m writing.

The tricky part of all of this was choosing one song to highlight in this post. I decided on a simple way of narrowing it down that I think is also the most effective – which songs made me think “oh yes I love this song/I can’t believe it’s been so long since I listened to this!”. There were a few but the one that I kept coming back to was Whenever, Wherever by Bombay Bicycle Club. I have been a fan of this band for many years now and in fact they do make me think of when I was in Sixth Form because they were the one band that everyone liked. I’ve always enjoyed their music and it’s a bonus to be able to relate positive memories to them. I am also aware that whenever I have mentioned Bombay Bicycle Club to various members of my family, every one of them has been confused and questioned whether they are an Indian band *insert eye roll/sigh here*.

Whenever, Wherever is from their 2014 album So Long, See You Tomorrow and I can clearly remember that I bought the album in it’s entirety on CD pretty much straight away. I did my usual of listening to the album on Spotify first (buying an album and having the only good tracks being the two or three that have already been released really sucks) but I knew after only listening to it once that I needed to own it on CD. I don’t think there is a bad song on the whole track-listing so I would definitely recommend listening to all of it. Whenever, Wherever is the song off the album which came up on my iTunes library shuffle recently and I love that it starts and ends in a slow, ballad-esque way and then builds into this upbeat tune. You can’t help but have a little dance when listening to this but it’s nice that it still has emotion and meaning to it. I have found that it is a song which is well suited to accompanying writing due to it being a more dance-y track, I can get into that groove of typing without it being distracting to my thinking.

Bombay Bicycle Club – Whenever, Wherever

Bombay-Bicycle-Club.jpg

N.

images via bombaybicycle.club
Leave a Reply

