dungaree dilemma

Firstly, I would like to clarify that there wasn’t a music monday post this week due to the long weekend and it was actually just as well because I had been thinking it was the wrong day since last Thursday.

Back to today’s post and I am basically looking to my 5 year old self for fashion inspiration because I’m going to be talking about dungarees! The fashion trends of the 90’s had a huge resurgence last year and they don’t seem to be any less popular this year either. Along with chokers and oversized plaid shirts, dungarees are back in style.

When I first saw them in high street stores all I could think of was when I wore mine for days in a row to school and how they were adorned with a Barbie keychain and patch (I repeat that this was in 1997-98 when I was in Reception). Yet somehow for months now I have been wishing I owned a pair. While I do still occasionally wonder if I would look like an oversized child, I’m at the point where I feel like they would just complete my wardrobe. Dungarees now seem like the perfect item of clothing to wear when you want to feel relaxed and comfortable but stylish at the same time. They are on trend without being try-hard and would take me another step closer to creating the dream denim collection.

The dilemma I have regarding dungarees is whether or not I could pull them off. Part of the change in my opinion of them on grown women is due to street style images and from seeing various celebrities wearing them and looking great. However I don’t have the figure that most of these women do and so even though I love the look of dungarees, I’m left wondering if they will love my body back. I feel like it would be pretty easy to look pregnant while wearing an ill-fitting pair, which is not ideal if you are not actually with child.

The other, and perhaps the more important and bigger issue I’m having with dungarees is what shoes do you wear with them? This is a problem that has arisen with various other pairs of trousers and jeans that I have both considered and have bought in the past. I believe dungarees look best when styled with sandals (be them Birkenstocks or a more delicate pair), a flat shoe or something with a chunky heel as I think these are all more flattering. The dilemma comes in when you live in England, which is cold and wet most of the year and so none of these footwear choices are a viable option.

Looking online, I found quite a few pairs of dungarees that I like the look of and are a range of prices. I want a full length pair in a mid/dark blue or black denim and I think it’s the length that makes them trickier to buy and to get the fit right. There a loads of great short dungarees that I think would be perfect for warm-weather holidays and they are more reasonably priced too- so no dilemma with those!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The following stylish women have renewed my interest in dungarees and demonstrated how well they can work on grown-ups. Whether black or blue denim, worn with a simple t-shirt or a pretty blouse, they show how dungarees are a versatile piece of denim.

dung-alexa
Alexa Chung
dung-alexa2
Alexa Chung
Alexa Chung shows dungarees are 'in' as she arrives in Sydney, Australia
Alexa Chung
dung-diane
Diane Kruger
dung-kate
Kate Bosworth
dung-kate2
Kate Bosworth
dung-keira
Keira Knightley
dung-pandora
Pandora Sykes
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Pandora Sykes
dung-olivia
Olivia Palermo
dungarees1
Veronika Heilbrunner

Moving forward I will continue my search for a pair of dungarees but I think until I try on some that I’m immediately in love with, and can successfully pair with shoes that won’t leave my ankles cold, I’m not sure they will be winning a spot in my wardrobe just yet.

N.

images via asos.com, topshop.com, freepeople.com, urbanoutfitters.com, hm.com, google images, pandorasykes.com, my pinterest

 

One thought on “dungaree dilemma

Leave a Reply

