music monday: Matt Corby

To say that I couldn’t imagine life without music is not original or surprising. In fact saying the opposite would be the shocking statement, but it’s true. Listening to certain songs can instantly change my mood- whether that’s making me happy or relaxed or more thoughtful.

So with this in mind, I’ve decided to make Monday’s all about music. I’m going to ease into each week with a great song, it could be one that I’ve loved for years or a new one that I just can’t stop listening too.

I’ve decided to start this off with a song by my favourite artist Matt Corby. He is someone whose music I can listen to anytime, any place, no matter what mood I’m in and whether I’m doing something at the same time or I just sit and really listen to the music and lyrics.

I first heard Matt Corby whilst in Australia (where he is from) completely by chance and had to wait until I got home a month later to look him and his music up online. That was in 2012 and since then I’ve seen him live three times and I can honestly say there isn’t one song he has made that I don’t love. I can listen to his music over and over again and it never gets old or over-done.

For today I’ve picked Breathe which is one of his songs that I have found myself pressing play on quite a lot recently. It’s a beautiful song that I find to be really calming and one that I can have on in the background but it can often force me to take a moment for myself too, to just really listen to it. I’m sure more of Matt Corby’s music will feature on my music mondays but I urge you to go and find the rest of his discography once you’ve enjoyed this song.

Matt Corby – Breathe

matt corby

N.

image taken by me, Nov. 2015
2 thoughts on “music monday: Matt Corby

Leave a Reply

